How it can all pivot around spotting a deer

Pleasure is spread through the earth
In stray gifts to be claimed by whoever shall find.
~William Wordsworth

It’s been a lovely day.  We made an abortive attempt at blackberry picking in the rain. The plan is to make jam so we bought a lot of sugar and then set off  to our favourite spot near Tetbury. However, the berries weren’t ready, despite the fact that the meagre bush in our garden is redolent with big juicy black ones. We’ll have to go back in a couple of weeks time.

My experiment is all about taking whatever emotion I am in and bettering it. Today was natural and smooth-flowing  – I even managed to do some research into a cottage for the New Year with my sister and to catch up with Janet, my very dear friend from Canada – but I can’t say I was being very concious about upping the energy.

What raised the day from a good day to a special day, in the end, came from a very unexpected place. On a whim I asked my son, (my football mad daughter was  busy listening to Manchester United .v. Aresenal on the radio with Guy), if he would like to go for a walk. It turned out to be magical as we spotted a doe with her 3 young in a piece of scrub land between two houses. Very unexpected, very welcome and an absolute shoe-in for the title of ‘Uplifter’ for the day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do you think?

