Movie meditation

I was going to call today’s blog “Being Naughty” but I’ve now changed it. I wanted to write a commentary on the joys of doing something rebellious because at lunchtime today, on a whim, I decided to go and see a film – Jane Eyre. Delicious!


Having just come out and parked in this country lane, (as I wait the few spare minutes before I pick up the kids), I feel all dreamy and wonderfully fuzzy. It occurs to me that one of the reasons I’m so passionate about movies is that they have a meditative quality – especially when watched solo. I love that. It’s an immersive experience – one that utterly transports you.

The great thing about meditation is that it quietens our chattering mind and allows the good that continually wants to come towards us, to be let in.

A blank, meditative mind is perhaps the closest we get to flow – to entering the same rich stream of well-being to which all of nature belongs.

So right now I will put down my iPhone and continue to cherish this warm communion. I can see no better way  to raise my happiness threshold.

What do you think?

