On the shoulders of my friends

Yesterday was about comforting myself and listening to what I needed. I’m grateful I did because I’ve felt more in action. I’m not completely back on track but that’s OK, I know there is the ‘nurture’ stage to go through (see ‘Comfort-Nuture-Action’). Today that nurturing came through various interactions with my friends.

Alone, we have only ourselves to judge our thoughts and actions. Just like that awful sound you get when a band is tuning up at the beginning of a gig and the sound feeds back on itself, listening to our own thoughts too much can lead to distortion and pain! True friends reflect back to us what we most want for ourselves. They are what Julia Cameron calls our ‘listening mirrors’. Seeing ourselves through our friends eyes can lift us out of self-doubt, fear and small-thinking. Thank you to all my dear friends – it is so good to stand on your shoulders!

“The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two chemical substances: if there is any reaction, both are transformed.”

Carl Jung

One response to “On the shoulders of my friends

What do you think?

