A new relationship with time

Thursday evening in Waitrose (Cirencester) cafe – killing time whilst Julia has her hockey practice.

“Killing time” is a very aggressive phrase isn’t it? Why do we want to be so murderous towards such a precious resource? There’s a mediocre movie out at the moment (called ‘In Time’) that’s got a great premise – namely that in the future you only have time until you’re 25 and then the clock ticks down towards your death a year later, unless that is, you can buy more time credits. In this world the rich can live forever and the poor die young. Humans in other words become like pay-as-you-go phones. Top-up or you die.

See the trailer here:

It seems to me that we in this non-fiction world are not so much divided between rich and poor as far as time goes, but between those that are concious of time and those that are not. The sick and dying for are hyper-conscious of the value of each moment. The very young are equally aware (in a blissfully unthinking way). It is the rest of us who rush-rush through life that are missing out.

But what if we developed a whole new consciousness of time such that it gave everything we did a whole new shine? It’s not that we have to fill our valuable time with thrills or even meaning, but we do have to be more present to it. When you sit completely still just listening to your breath, a minute can feel like a surprisingly long time.

So no more ‘killing time’ for me. With the Future Self Now work I’ve noticed that if I feel my Future Self come into my Now and look through my eyes, everything becomes 100% more delicious. My Future Self looks at this table I’m sitting at and says, “Wow, I remember that table! We did everything on it – eat, play games, make crafts, paint.” She looks at the enormous beech tree at the bottom of the garden and says “I miss that tree”. In other words I use my knowledge of my Future to heighten my enjoyment of my present. It works!

 

2 responses to “A new relationship with time

  1. I ilike this! I’m ending the current version of my business (the corporation) and looking through my future self eyes, wow, all I learned from that experieince. Past the sad of an “ending” is the gratitude my future self sees of the turning point this was….:)

  2. I love the idea of looking at the present with my eyes from the future (instead of always looking at the past or the future from now…). You’re absolutely right…so many of the humble things we take for granted in the present, like the beech tree you mention, or the table, would become precious to us when glimpsed from a future where they may no longer exist. This is an excellent perspective-shift for slipping into a count-your-blessings frame of mind.

What do you think?

