Dealing with festive fever

After my last post Kelly left this comment:

…would love a happiness post on dealing with Christmas, I feel very mixed about the whole business, and the pressure of “presents’ and expectations, real or imagined.

Ah yes, Christmas! ‘Tis the season to be jolly. Jolly busy.

I sympathise with Kelly who lives in Canada because, it has to be said, many North Americans do go a bit bonkers with it all.

It can all get a bit frenzied. As Kelly says, expectations can be so high. So here’s my top tip for dealing with things at this time of year:

Do the festivities on your own terms

If you want to skip sending out Christmas cards this year – by all means!

If you want to go to the Bahamas and forget it all – spread your wings and fly.

If you want to visit family in the spring rather than dashing around like a mad thing now – that’s OK too.

It’s far better that you do what really appeals to you than to spend your time scowling over the fatted turkey. Your relatives will have a much better time without you, to be frank!

What I love about my family is that we all do our own thing with the present buying. Some go lavish, some buy in second hand shops, some buy online, some make things by hand, some don’t buy anything at all. (We’re a big family!) I remember one year we all received presents  from the ancient contents of my brother-in-law’s mother’s attic. She’d recently had a clear out and saw an opportunity. Wonderful!

So what do you REALLY want to do this festive season? Claim it as your own. It’s much kinder to everyone involved to have a happy version of you participating (or not!) – than to expect them to deal with you feeling all bitter and twisted about it.

Choose your version of things and have a jolly good time doing it!

4 responses to “Dealing with festive fever

  1. Thanks T:) I took something from your ideas, and now some Christmas lights are up – just enough to make me happy. I did a relaxed online buy last night, and made a list. The other big thing I did was put some expected costs against the ideas, and sat with it. Am I ok to spend this amount? I got tired at that point ( sometimes it really is hard to sit with “the numbers” for me).

    I decided what I needed was an extra “miscellaneous” bit of money planned, that if I wanted to buy a poinsettia for my neighbour on a whim I could. That I wanted a little more spontaneity as part of my Christmas spirit.

    Tonight I will take another step forward. I decided to make a list of the stores I want to go to, and really go for it and see if I can get this done. I am going to put on comfortable shoes, be grateful I am in a place to get this done earlier than later, and I’m going to aim to spend time being thankful for the person I am buying the gift for in the process tonight.
    I also am going to smile and say in my head about people who catch my eye… “You look gorgeous” and be a little impish and positive as I am out and about tonight…and if I get tired, I will stop.:)

  2. I think the secret to having a happy time at Christmas is to think of it through the eyes of a child. The child in all of us.

What do you think?

