Choose a juicy goal and succeed!

At the heart of my Future Self Now (FSN) program is a powerful visualisation that has you really feel and know who you are and where you are going. I love this tool because it’s simple yet incredibly effective.

Of course visualisation is not new – it started to become popular after the Russians used it with their athletes in the 1970s and is used by many successful people today. Science has proven that mental practices are almost effective as true physical practice, and that doing both is more effective than either alone.

You can read more about it’s history and proven effects in this article from Psychology Today.

The visualisations talked about in this article are goal-specific. i.e. you pick a goal and practice seeing yourself there having succeeded in it. The only caveat I would add to this is that you have to know that this goal is right for you – that it is aligned to your essence, to who you are, (or as I would say, to your Future Self). A goal that is not aligned is much more likely to fail because it will feel off, not YOU.

I have a short term goal that I’m working on right now that is very much aligned – my next FSN workshop. Ironically, one of the things I’m looking to bring, is a new way of presenting the FSN visualisation in a group setting. What I’ve done in past workshops definitely works but what if I could make it even better?!

So how about I use this goal-visualisation technique on this and see what manifests? Worth a try. I have done a version of this for clients before where we bring in Future Self to the particular short-term goal and have him/her demonstrate what it’s like to be there, enjoying its successful completion.What we haven’t experimented with is a daily practice of this.

So, for the next two weeks I’m going to commit to a daily practice of visualising myself on the 24th March in Cheltenham delivering a highly successful new way of delivering the Future Self Now visualisation with my Future Self in attendance to guide me.(Hope this isn’t sounding too confusing!)  I have no idea what my fabulous new techique looks like right now but perhaps with my mind focused on it’s positve impact on my participants, an answer will appear. As I say, definitely worth a try.

I will report back periodically to you and in the meantime why don’t you start your own experiment with a short-term, juicy, heart-felt goal. Go through all the motions and emotions of it. What can you see, hear, smell, touch? Practice working towards and succeeding at this goal, over and over again – creating a mental muscle-memory. Then take action and, chances are, your real-life success will match your brain’s rehearsal of it.

Let us know how you get on. (Or perhaps you’ve done this technique before – in which case let us know how it went!)

 

 

 

4 responses to “Choose a juicy goal and succeed!

  1. T sweetheart sounds right on track! Wish you all the best with the visualisation of group process for FSN.
    I shall commit to a weeks visualisation for my new work.
    With love Jo xx

    • Thanks Jo. It definitely seems to be shifting something in me this visualisation of the process running up to a successful conclusion. It’s like your brain making room for the new. What I recommend is to write down a checklist of what creating your new work would look like – what do you imagine the process will be? Then visualise yourself at each step succeeding in that. For you this might include the nurturing of your inspiration, then experimenting with different techniques, then producing your first piece. Give it a go and let me know how you get on! x

  2. Love this “working on it” space T…Love it.. I used to have a whole wall in my room dedicated to a vision that came to me as to where my art might go, but it was more of an energy flow that a “place” in particular…I took it down about a year ago, but it was feeding me today as I took some “heartfelt” next steps to put my art forward in the world….shifting my mindset from “giving” to “offering” and seeing what happens. It’s so aligned with future self, my body sense is like I revved my engines and just coasted on the energy the last couple hours…

What do you think?

