Our inner granny

 

Today I am 49; next week I will tip into my fifties.

It doesn’t worry me – in fact I’m looking forward to my fifties – but it all seems so theoretical. In my heart I’m 36. But I like the idea of my fifties because I’ve long thought that, from this time on, it would be ‘My Time’. I would be fully in my skin and unapologetic about my path.

Actually that instinct is largely correct. I do feel more ‘in my skin’ than I’ve every felt. I’m not saying I’ve got it all figured out (much as I would have liked to believe that at times!) – of course I haven’t. It’s more that I am more willing than I’ve ever been to see myself as imperfect and to gain confidence with that thought.

I am perfectly imperfect!

Think of our image of an ideal granny. Even when we may be feeling bruised by life she only sees our greatness and gives us unending compassion. “It’s normal to bungle, to fail, to trip up,” she says. “Be patient, be kind, take very good care of the precious human being that you are.”

In my Future Self Now program we use our inner wisdom to help guide us forward – to inspire us with a joyful anticipation of what is to come and, at the same time, LOVE where we’re at right now. Our Future Selves, in other words, are like our inner grannies or grandpas.

I’ve just started a new 8 week course and if you’d like to be a fly-on-the-wall and follow some of the teachings yourself then simply ‘Like’ the Future Self Now Facebook page and you will receive updates on some of the tools and insights that we are experiencing.

Here’s a simple tip to leave you with: Your inner granny or grandpa is always wise and compassionate, so ask yourselves, whenever you need to,

“What would my inner granny/grandpa say to me now?”

 

 

4 responses to “Our inner granny

  1. As someone who is set to be 51 years old in a months time I’m just a little ahead of you. I took on a massive new challenge in the last 3 months with a career change. I’m not as fit as I was when I was 36 but but hope I have a good deal more wisdom that helps to compensate for the change.

    • Great stuff, John. All the best with your career change and good for you for following your instincts. I love the quote by Les Brown: “Shoot for the moon. Even if you don’t reach it, you’ll land amongst the stars.”

What do you think?

